redstone circuits

How-To: Build Redstone Circuits

This week, we’re focusing on redstone circuits. Redstone is Minecraft’s version of electricity. Redstone can allow players to build many things – from working doors and music machines to block robots and even computers. Check out the video below where our counselors explain the ins and outs of using redstone.

Redstone can be found several ways, but one of the most common is mining. When Redstone is mined it turns into redstone dust which can be used like electricity. Redstone dust is like the wires of redstone circuitry. Most solid blocks can be powered by redstone.

Blocks can be turned on via several different mechanisms depending on the type of power needed. Levers provide a charge as long as they are switched on, similar to light switches. Buttons will only provide a charge for a few seconds after being pushed. Presser plates only provide a charge while someone or something is standing on them.

How far the power travels depends on the power source at the beginning of the circuit. The circuit wire – made with redstone dust – can travel up stairs. Redstone repeaters can boost the power on a circuit, as well as delay a charge for a few seconds and allow power to only pass in one direction.

Still need to master the basics of redstone? Already know how to create amazing circuits? Test out your ability during our Engineering Club, part of our free Kid Club, on Mondays from 1:30-4p PT/4:30-7p ET. You can also test out your own creativity with redstone during Free Play on Saturdays from 10a-12p PT/1-3p ET.

If you’re looking for more info on redstone check out the links below:

Be sure to check out our other How-To posts:

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *